Travel Grants and Scientific Prizes

Travel Grants

A limited number of travel grants are available to delegates from Global South countries (living and working in developing economies). The online travel grant application process was available from June 4 to 18, 2013 to participants who had an accepted paper proposal (author or co-author) in the forum programme.

Please do not send any travel grant requests or applications via e-mail as the deadline has passed. We will not respond to e-mail solicitations.


Application criteria
The potential candidates are young or early career social scientists:
•    Whose presentation has been accepted and is regarded as particularly relevant by the Scientific Programme Committee;
•    Who can demonstrate the positive impact to their career from attendance to the WSS Forum 2013;
•    Who are preferably under 40 years of age;
•    Who are living and actively working on research or pursuing studies in a country of the Global South.

Required Supporting Documents
The applicants will be asked to provide the following supporting documents (in PDF format) in the online travel grant application:
•    Proof of citizenship (identification page of passport) in a country of the Global South
•    Proof of work or study in a developing country (of the Global South)
•    A letter of intent demonstrating the positive impact to your career from attendance to the WSS Forum 2013

Scientific Prizes

The ISSC awards two prestigious international prizes:

Stein Rokkan Prize for Comparative Social Science Research

The Stein Rokkan Prize for Comparative Social Science Research was first awarded in 1981 in honour of Stein Rokkan (1921-1979), who pioneered this type of research. Rokkan was a Norwegian political scientist and sociologist. A professor in Comparative Politics at the University of Bergen in Norway, he was Vice-President of the International Sociological Association from 1966 to 1970, President of the International Political Science Association from 1970 to 1973, President of the International Social Science Council from 1973 to 1977, and co-founder and Chairman, from 1970 to 1976, of the European Consortium for Political Research. The Prize was instituted jointly by the ISSC and the Conjunto Universitario Candido Mendes in Brazil, and until 2002 the Prize was awarded jointly by both institutions. Candido Mendes served as President of the ISSC from 1981 to 1992.

The Prize is awarded for very substantial and original contributions in comparative social science research. Submissions can be either an unpublished manuscript of book length, or a printed book, or collected works published no more than two years before the award year. Laureates receive a diploma and a cash prize, which is awarded by the ISSC during a meeting of its General Assembly, before which laureates are usually asked to deliver a public lecture.

Since 2008, and thanks to the generous support of the University of Bergen, where Stein Rokkan was professor of comparative politics, the Stein Rokkan Prize amounts to €5000 and is awarded on an annual basis.


Stein Rokkan Prize winners

2012 - Pepper D. Culpepper

The winner of the XVIIth Stein Rokkan Price for Comparative Social Research (2012) is Professor Pepper D Culpepper from the European University Institute’s Department of Political and Social Sciences.

In his book on Quiet Politics and Business Power” Pepper D. Culpepper takes issue with Abraham Lincoln’s view of the democratic process. He argues that open contestation, political conflict, compromise and accountability of politicians applies only to a smaller fraction of all major political decisions, above all to those issues which are marked by high political salience, a predominance of formal institutions — defined as rules established in the legislative arena by state actors — and moderate or low levels of complexity.

His book takes up a major topic of Stein Rokkan’s work. Namely, the role of economic interests in democratic politics. Culpepper’s ‘quiet politics’ is closely related to Rokkan’s insight in his analysis of political opposition in Norway, that ‘votes count, but resources decide’. ‘Quiet politics’ points to a major problem of democracies, often overlooked by the focus of politicians and political scientists on salient political conflicts, partisan coalitions and public debate. It contributes to empirical democratic theory, redirecting attention to policy-making in non-salient but tremendously important arenas.

In addition, Culpepper’s study builds empirical and theoretical bridges to the fields of business administration, to law and to comparative political economy more generally. Quiet Politics and Business Power is a major contribution to the study of political and economic institutions, processes and outcomes; and a deserving winner of the prize.

2011 - James W. McGuire

2010 - Beth A. Simmons

2009 - Robert E. Goodin
          James Mahmud Rice
          Antti Parpo
          Lina Eriksson

2008 - Prof. Cas Mudde

2006 - Milada Anna Vachudova

For more information about Stein Rokkan Prize winners please visit the ISSC website


The Foundation Mattei Dogan (FMD) and ISSC Prize for Excellence in Interdisciplinary Research

The FMD-ISSC Prize for Excellence in Interdisciplinary Research was established in 2005 to distinguish social scientists whose work has advanced knowledge in the social sciences by crossing disciplinary boundaries and recombining different specialised subject fields in their research or writing.

The amount of the prize is US$5000. Laureates are invited to give a lecture before an international social science audience at a World Social Science Forum organised by the ISSC.

Nominations for the prize can be made by ISSC members or other professional associations in various disciplines, as well as by universities and academic institutions. The selection of a winner is made by an international jury of scholars.

prize_dapter The first FMD-ISSC Prize for Excellence in Interdisciplinary Research was awarded to David E. Apter, Professor Emeritus of Comparative Political and Social Development, Yale University. The award was presented at the Bibliotheca Alexandrina in Alexandria, Egypt, on 9 November 2006. Professor Apter’s address to the joint General Assemblies of the ISSC and the International Council for Philosophy and Humanistic Studies (CIPSH) can be downloaded here: AN APPROACH TO INTERDISCIPLINARITY [pdf file, 356 Kb]

Further information about the prizes can be obtained from the ISSC Secretariat.